New class at Kelly Mehler’s School of Woodworking

Final with door open

I am so not a summer person. I’ll take snow any day, or even the endless gray of February, over 95 degrees with suffocating humidity.

Even so, I’m looking forward to at least one week in the summer of 2015.

When Kelly Mehler called a few weeks ago and asked me to teach a five-day class at his school, I was elated. I’ve taught five classes there since 2006 and always enjoy my time in that part of Kentucky.

The school is  a delight. Just outside of Berea– famous for its college, long tradition of Appalachian crafts, and the nearby restored Shaker settlement of Pleasant Hill–the shop occupies a two-story building surrounded by wooded hills. Windows fill the bench room with sunshine (note: for those of us more comfortable in winter, there’s air conditioning).  Class sizes are small–rarely more than eight students–which allows for plenty of personalized instruction. On top of all this, Kelly and his wife Teri are some of the most welcoming hosts I’ve ever encountered.

Since Kelly initially asked me to teach a class on milk paint, a variety of  techniques using this ancient material (some of them possibly shocking) will be a primary focus. You can get an idea of what we’ll cover in the class description. As someone who likes classes that produce a useful object, I expanded the syllabus to include a versatile wall cabinet built from poplar using a variety of traditional and contemporary techniques. By the time your cabinet’s ready for finish you’ll have a number of milk paint tricks up your sleeve, along with a collection of samples to keep in your own shop for future reference.

Kelly Mehler with veteran student Jim Ferrell, 2011

Kelly Mehler with veteran student Jim Ferrell, 2011

Feel free to contact me if you would like further information.

3 responses to “New class at Kelly Mehler’s School of Woodworking

  1. How can you not be a summer person and still love gardening? Just got your post and can’t wait to spend another week with you and Kelly (and Teri) next summer. I am even trying to get Peg to come. What is new with you? Hope you and Mark are doing well. I will write more later and send some pictures of the new pond we just had installed in the back yard. Evenings can usually be found sitting on the edge with her feet in the water. Best to you and Mark, Jim and Peggy

  2. Jim! It’s true. I detest summer, though this summer, which has been more like an extended fall, has been more than bearable.

  3. And Jim (sorry; I had to take a phone call), it would be great to have Peg in Berea. Would she be taking the class too or just shopping? (Don’t tell her I asked that.) Do send pictures of the pond. It sounds idyllic.

Leave a Reply

